RL post

Standard

So, tomorrow is the busy day of busy days. We have our 22-week ultrasound at 9, which for those following along from home is the “big one.” You know, the one where they tell you “oh it’s a {fill in the blank here}” if you want. Well, to be specific, it’s the one where we hope kung-fu baby is modest and doesn’t go flashing it’s crotch at the camera cause we don’t want to know.

I’m not entirely counting on it. Baby has proven itself quite adept at doing exactly what is not wanted at that moment. (I swear, it’s gonna be a boy.)

But, gender issues aside, I’ll hopefully be able to fend off ravening future-grandmas with new pictures. Since every time I talk to my mom, she only wants to talk about the baby.

Though, that’s somewhat understandable her wanting good/happy news. Stuff in California isn’t going so great. My grandfather, who is in his mid-80s, was just diagnosed with prostate cancer. It’s aggressive, which is bad, but it hasn’t spread, it was caught early, and he’s totally healthy otherwise, which is all good. He’s expected to make a full recovery, but he’s going to be in the middle of his radiation treatment when the baby is born. And I’d just convinced them to come out this summer, too.

I know it’s selfish, but once I heard he WAS expected to make a full recovery, that’s the part that gets me worst.

Also, my uncle has just been admitted into the hospital. He finally let my grandparents call an ambulance for him to deal with the slow suicide he’s been committing over the past two years since his wife died. He may weigh 80lb.

I’m really really worried for my grandmother, with all these things happening almost at once.

So, I don’t really mind my mom only wanting to talk about the baby. I hope tomorrow there are new picture(s) I can show her.

The rest of tomorrow, we’ll be at the new house doing all the final inspections. Not much to say there, really, just that we’ll totally be running around like crazy trying to get everything together. That and I hate moving..

3 responses »

  1. *hugs*

    One of my friends (due very soon now!) has firmly told everyone that she doesn’t want to know the baby’s gender. She’s still alternating between “he” and “she” when talking about the baby in emails.

    If you don’t want to know, you should be able to convince your caregivers of that. =] (and if not, what a bunch of fuddy duddies!)

    I’m sorry to hear about your family troubles, that’s a downer. It’s good that you have HAPPY news (yay baby!) to combat it with.

    • Oh my caregivers are quite fine with the whole “Oh she doesn’t want to know, that’s cool” thing.

      What I *don’t* trust is baby. Baby has a long history (well, of several months) of doing what I don’t want it to do at that moment. When presented with a camera and mommy & daddy’s desire to know the gender, I pretty much anticipate baby going ‘HERE CROTCH!!!!!’

Leave a Reply

