Apple-Stuffed Porkchops

Standard

We cook for 3, so this recipe reflects that.

3 Porkchops (thick cut, bone status doesn’t matter)

1 Granny Smith Apple (Yes, it must be Granny Smith (okay, not really, but a firm, tart baking apple is definitely required)

BBQ sauce (we use Jack Daniel’s Original No. 7 Recipe)

Preheat oven to 375.

Peel and chop the apple.  You’re looking for smaller pieces than are usually found in pie.  Usually I quarter the apple, then divide each quarter in 3-4 long strips, then chop those.  Set aside.

Slice a pocket in each chop.  Aim for a 1-2 inch opening on one side, and try to slice as much of the middle open as possible.

Stuff the apple into the chops until you can’t stuff anymore.  The more apple, the better.  (Usually, the stuffed part is twice as thick as the unstuffed when we’re done.)

Place chops in foil-lined pan and glop on some BBQ sauce.  You want the top and sides of each chop well-covered.

Bake uncovered for ~30-45 minutes (depending on your oven) until done.  Pork should be cooked through but not tough.

Background

This is a Marianne-original.  It’s easy, and I’m pretty quick with the apple peeler (I better be with the apple pies I make after every trip to the orchard during picking season.)  The recipe this was inspired from was a much more generic stuffed porkchop recipe using Stovetop Stuffing.  I don’t particularly like Stovetop (too salty for me), and I know how awesome apples and pork taste together (mmm…) so I figured why not just skip to the end and stuff the chops with apple.

It was an awesome idea.

We serve this with mashed potatoes, but pork also tastes great with sweet potato.  Or, you know, anything that suits your fancy.

6 responses »

  1. *recipe thief*

    Seri gave me a link to your blog. I came for the porkchops, and I stayed for the blog itself. =]

    Delurking to let you know I’m watching the blog. ❤

  2. er, um, eek! *is stalked?*

    Nah, I dun mind. Seri asked if it was okay to give you my porkchop recipe since it links to my personal blog. Doesn’t bother me. You’ll probably double my hit count 😉

  3. *laughs* I added you to my feed reader. I don’t comment a ton, unless I feel I have something to say. Then again, I added you to my reader because you already had a few posts that I would normally comment on, so who knows! *grins*

    At the very least, you do indeed have another stalker. *winks*

  4. Pingback: Thoughts on privacy « Marianne’s Musings

Leave a Reply

